KZN Senior Championships 10 - 11 March 2019

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, 13 March 2019 in Senior News

Ian Espitalier Noel 550x430

Ian Espitalier Noel (DCC), winner of the KZN Senior Championships receiving the trophy from Deneys Hattingh.


The 2019 Bidvest Van and Truck Rental sponsored KZN Senior Championships were held at Durban Country Club over Sunday 10th and Monday 11th March. Trying conditions were found on day one with light rain and a fairly breezy south westerly wind which made the closing holes a good test of golfing ability. Day two was kinder, however quite humid and energy sapping after the previous day's rain.

Basil Naidoo (DCC) led the A Division field after 18 holes with a 70 gross closely followed by Mike Matthews (Umhlali) on 73, John Krugel (Rustenberg), Henry Trevena (Royal Cape) and Lynton Beckett (RDGC) a further one shot behind on 74 with Alex Pillay (Cato Ridge) and Guy O'Connor (Kloof) on 75.

Day two saw Ian Espatilier Noel (DCC) return an impressive 69 gross with Craig Kamps (Brynston) two under 70 gross and Mike Matthews (Umhlali) 73 gross to end up in a three way tie on 146 gross. A "sudden death" playoff to determine the overall winner took place with Ian Espitalier Noel winning on the first extra hole.

Craig Kamps (Brynston) was awarded second place, Mike Matthews (Umhlali) third, John Krugel (Rustenberg) fourth and the Best Nett awarded to Dave Jessup (ERPM). Basil Naidoo (DCC) took the Super Senior first place with 147 gross.

Craig Kamps 480x341

Craig Kamps - second place on 146 gross

Mike Matthews 480x330

Mike Matthews - third place with 146 gross

John Krugel 480x319

John Krugel - fourth place with 148 gross

Basil Naidoo 480x414

Basil Naidoo - Super Senior winner with 147 gross

In the B Division there were some very good scores given the playing conditions. Ganas Naicker (Umfolozi) led the field with 43 individual stableford points after 18 holes. Gary Fourie (Kloof) returned 40 points, Jay Govender (Maidstone) and Lawrence Sithole (Vulintaba) each had 38 points and JD Naidoo (Eden National) had 37 points.

A steady performance by Ganas Naicker (Umfolozi) who returned 38 stableford points on day two secured his position as winner of the B Division with a total of 81 points. Jay Govender (Maidstone) finished second with 76 points, Dave Fisher (DCC) third with 73 points and Piet Strydom (MECC) fourth with 71 points. Lawrence Sithole was awarded the B Division Super Senior winner's prize with a total of 75 stableford points.

Ganas Naicker 480x361

Ganas Naicker - B Division winner with 81 stableford points

Jay Govender 455x480

Jay Govender - second place

Dave Fisher 480x439

Dave Fisher - third place

Lawrence Sithole 476x480

Lawrence Sithole - B Division Super Senior winner

The B and C Division Order of Merit prizes for the top 8 players for their performance through the 2018/2019 year was awarded. Standings were as follows;

1. Robin Singh

2. Herran Chellan

3. Jay Govender

4. Lawrence Sithole

5. Daan Fourie

6. Roy Singh

7. Jose de Jesus

8. Loven Moodley

A successful tournament all round. Thanks to those players who always make the effort to travel from up-country to support this event and thanks to our sponsor, Bidvest Van and Truck Rental.

Bidvest Van  Truck Logo 120x46

(pics courtesy of Samakipics)

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf