KZN Senior Matchplay 2021 A & B Division Results

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 24 August 2021 in Senior News

Morgan and Richard 2021

The top 16 KZN Senior Amateur golfers on the A Division Order of Merit and 8 Senior Golfers on the B & C Division Order of Merit, qualified to play in the 2021 KZN Senior Matchplay event hosted at Durban Country Club over the 21st and 22nd August. 

The event is tagged onto the final two days of the prestigous KZN Amateur Golf Tournament which was won by Jono Broomhead who played some incredible golf during the tournament.

The Senior Matchplay event however was dominated by Morgan Phillips who beat Phillip Grant in the final on Sunday to take the top honours and KZN Senior Amateur Matchplay trophy. Morgan is pictured above receiving the winner's trophy from Richard Nel, KZN Senior Amateur Chairman.

Phillip and Morgan

Pictured above is winner and runner-up, Morgan Phillips (R) and Phillip Grant (L).

The losers in each round of the A Division qualified for the Plate Division, which was also hotly contested, with Kevin Curren meeting Lynton Beckett in the final round on Sunday aternoon. Kevin went on to win a "sudden death" playoff on the 21st hole being the par 5 third at DCC where Kevin made an eagle to win.

Kevin and Richard 2021

Kevin Curren in jovial mood with Richard Nel.

In the B & C Division Matchplay event, Robin Singh met Hugh Crichton in the final round on Sunday with Robin coming through as the winner having played steady golf.

IMG 5344 Robin Singh

Robin Singh and Richard Nel (file photo)

Well played to all who participated and congratulations to the winners. To see all the results, go to the Senior News TAB and the Senior Downloads menu on the left of the page to view the Matchplay Grids for both A Division and Plate as well as the B Division.

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf