KZN Senior Spring Open Championships, Zimbali CC 2nd - 3rd September 2019

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 03 September 2019 in Senior News

IMG 1888 430x330

Glynn Forman (Durban CC) wins the 2019 KZN Senior Amateur Spring Open Championship played at Zimbali Country Club.


The 2019 KZN Senior Spring Open Championship was played at the picturesque and challenging Zimbali Country Club over Sunday 2nd and Monday 3rd September. Fortunately the gale force winds that battered the Natal Coast on Saturday had abated and golfers were treated to two supurb Spring days at Zimbali.

Zimbali was in great condition. The fairways were closely mown and the greens quite racey but true but typical of Zimbali, the odd stray shot as a result of a concentration lapse, was severly punished.

Glynn Forman led the A Division field after day one having shot a level par gross 72 . Following closely behind were Stephen Johnston (Ruimsig) with 74, veteran Jock Wellington (Kyalami) and Alex Pillay (Cato Ridge) with 75 and Morgan Phillips (Victoria) and Basil Naidoo (DCC) with 76.

Glynn managed to keep his game together on day two under pressure from Alex Pillay and Morgan Phillips to finish with a total gross score of 147, one shot ahead of Alex Pillay on 148 and Morgan Phillips two shots back with 149. Alasdair Muir (DCC) took fourth place with 151 gross.

The Super Senior best gross went to regular visitor Colin Weinstein (Modderfontein) with 165 and the Best Nett prize went to Shane Davis (Athlone) with a score of 160 gross less 18 = 142 nett.

IMG 1887 430x303

Alex Pillay being congratulated by Brian Olsen, Vice President KZNGU.

IMG 1889 430x308

Glynn Forman (winner) and Alex Pillay (second) with their medals.

IMG 1885 430x314

Third place Morgan Phillips with Brian Olsen.

IMG 1884 430x361

Fourth place Alasdair Muir with Brian Olsen.

IMG 1883 430x363

Super Senior winner, Colin Weinstein of Modderfontein.

IMG 1882 430x383

Krishna Naidoo (Durban Golf Club), B Division winner being congratulated by Brian Olsen of KZNGU.

There were some excellent scores in the B Division on day one with Elvin Naidoo (Athlone) leading the pack with an impressive 44 individual stableford points. Hot on his heels were Ganas Naicker (Umfolosi) with 42, Krishna Naidoo (DGC) with 41, Devan Govender (Eden National) also with 41, Beki Mbokazi (Empangeni) with 39 and Jay Govender (Maidstone) with 38 points.

Elvin slipped away on day two while Krishna Naidoo managed to string together another solid round returning 38 points to take first place with a total of 79 stableford points.

Second place in the B Division went to Ganas Naicker (Umfolozi) with 76 points, third was Pradeep Ramowtar (Central Durban) with 39 points and fourth was Bheki Mbokazi (Empangeni) with 73 points.

IMG 1879 381x430

Ganas Naicker second place B Division with 76 points.

IMG 1878 430x406

Pradeep Ramowtar (Central DBN) third place with 74 points.

The Super Senior position in the B Division went to first round leader, Elvin Naidoo (Athlone) with a total of 74 points.

IMG 1876 430x426

 B Division Super Senior winner, Elvin Naidoo being congratulated by Brian Olsen.


An excellent tournament all round with congratulations to all the prizewinners, Zimbali CC management and staff and thanks to our sponsors, The Golfers Club and Bidvest Van and Truck Rental for their continued and appreciated support.

image003 360x269 120x90   Bidvest Van  Truck Logo 120x46

 (photos Samakipics)

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf