The Golfers Club Senior Classic 7 - 8 March 2019

Posted by Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher
Dave Fisher has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, 09 March 2019 in Senior News

IMG 4230 427x640

Richard Brooker (Royal Cape), winner of the 2019 KZN Senior Classic Open.

By all accounts, a very successful KZNGU tournament was hosted by Cotswold Downs over 7th and 8th March 2019. Day one saw some good scores posted in both A and B Divisions as well as a Hole-In-One being recorded on the short par 4 sixth hole (more about that later). The weather on day two was threatening however the weatherman was kind enough to keep the rain at bay. The greens at Cotswold also had the unweary struggling with the pace at times as I overheard the lament by some players of three and even a five putt, being experienced.

The first round provided some very good scores being posted in both divisions as mentioned. In the A Division, Kevin Curren (DCC), Ian Smith (Houghton) and Richard Brooker (Royal Cape) topped the leader board after day one each with 73 gross. Jan Tait was one behind on 74 with five other players on 75.

Day two saw Graeme Inggs (DCC) and Henry Travena (Royal Cape) each post a 73 gross. Basil Naidoo (DCC) made a comeback with 74 as did Lynton Beckett (RDGC). Another four players posted 75's.

None of this was enough however to catch the overall A Division winner, Richard Brooker (Royal Cape pictured above) with scores of 73 + 75 = 148 gross. Basil Naidoo (DCC) finished second one shot behind with 75 + 74 = 149 gross. Third place went to Graeme Inggs (MECC) with 77 + 73 = 150 gross and fourth was Lynton Beckett (RDGC) with 78 + 74 = 152 gross counting out Colin Mavuso (Royal Port Alfred), Mike Matthews (Umhlali) and Jock Wellington (Kyalami) also on 152 gross.

Richard Brooker mentioned in his winners speech on receiving his first prize and medal, that for him it was a remarkable win given that he played the course "blind"in that he had never played Cotswold before. In addition, the win was special as it also just happened to be his birthday ! Congratulations Richard !

IMG 4225 640x464

Basil Naidoo - second.

IMG 4221 561x640

Graeme Inggs - third

IMG 4220 640x505

Lynton Beckett - fourth

Earlier I mentioned a hole-in-one and this honour went to Ian Smith (Houghton) on the short par four 6th hole. The Tournament Director decided to move the 6th tee box forward on day one to temp the brave into taking the risk and reward chance on this very tight and well bunkered hole. Many players opted to use rescue clubs and irons off the tee but Ian decided to have a go for the green and went for it with a driver. Upon arriving at the green Ian's ball was nowhere to be seen and a search of the bunkers and surrounding area ensued. Just as Ian was about to return to the tee box to put another ball into play, his ball was found in the hole ! Ian also took the prize for the Best Nett with a nett score of 145.


Ian Smith on the 6th Green - Hole-in-one.

IMG 4211 427x640

The Super Senior winner in the A Division was Henry Trevena (Royal Cape) with a gross score of 151.

IMG 4222 640x397

Henry Travena - A Division Super Senior Winner.

On day one in the B Division, some remarkable scores were returned with DJ de Jesus (Sakabula) scoring 44 individual stableford points. Sean Slabbert (Cotswold) scored 38 points but unfortunately signed for a wrong card. Roly Muller (RDGC) and Gary Fourie (Kloof) both scored 36 points.

On day two, Fezile Sineke (Ethekwini) scored 42 points and Domingos de Jesus scored 39 points to put him into the prizes. Robin Singh (MECC) and Ramesh Rajpal(RDGC) scored 37 points and Babs Govender scored 36 points.

This was not enough to catch up to DJ de Jesus who's first round 44 followed by 30 points took him into first place with a total of 74 stableford points.

IMG 4217 640x488

DJ de Jesus - winner B Division

IMG 4216 640x516

Second place went to Robin Singh (MECC) with 35 + 37 = 72 points

Third was Domingos de Jesus (Victoria) with 30 + 39 = 69 points (no photograph available)

IMG 4215 640x486

Fourth was Roly Muller (RDGC) with 36 + 33 = 69 points

IMG 4219 640x482

The Super Senior winner in the B Division was Babs Govender (DCC) with 35 + 36 = 71 points.

A successful tournament indeed and by all accounts, enjoyed by all participants. Thanks to our sponsors, The Golfers Club.

image003 360x269 120x90

(pics courtesy of Samakipics).

Social Networking


Contact Information

Back To Top ↑

Links of Sponsors of KZN Golf