KZN Golf News Senior

KZN Senior Classic at Kloof Country Club 2023

Gert Coetzee (Mill Gate) wins the KZN Senior Amateur Classic held at Kloof Country Club over 2 -3rd March 2023.

A total of 90 players of which 25 were out-of-Province visitors, took part in the KZN Senior Classic played at Kloof Country Club over 2nd – 3rd March 2023. Kloof had received quite a lot of rain leading up to the tournament which made the course play longer than its physical yardage as there was little or no run especially for the early starters on day two with heavy dew on fairways. Kloof course management muist be congratulated on getting the course in top condition under the circumstances.

Heading up the leader board after day one was Jaquo Jacobs (Irene) with a level par score of gross 70. There was a group of five players sitting on gross 72 and these were Morgan Phillips (Victoria), Guy O’ Connor (Kloof), Udesh Pillay (East London), Gert Coetzee (Mill Gate) and Andrew Forde (Kloof). One shot further back on 73 were Lyall McNeill (Durban Country Club), CJ Head (Modderfontein) and Noel Parsonage (Umkomaas).

There was rain overnight and heavy dew at the start of day two and Jacquo Jacobs, Guy O’ Connor Udesh Pillay, Andrew Forde CJ Head and Noel Parsonage fell away a little. Good scores on day two were returned by Murray Gilson (Durban Country Club) with gross 71, Morgan Phillips with another steady 72 and Lyall McNeill, Johnny Branco (Southdowns) and Steve Young (Royal Durban) all with rounds of 73,

But it came down to another great round of level par 70 for Gert Coetzee (Mill Gate) which was enough to earn him first place honors and the gold medal with a total gross score of 142. Gert is pictured above being congratulated by Richard Nel, Chairman of the KZN Senior Amateur Committee.

Second place in the A Division went to Morgan Phillips (Victoria CC) on 144. Third place went to Murray Gilson (Durban CC) on 146 after his comeback of 71 gross on day two and fourth place went to Lyall McNeill with 146 counting out Jaquo Jacobs also on 146.

Morgan Phillips. Second with 144 gross.

Lyall McNeill (DCC) took 4th place on 146 gross. Unfortunately Murray Gilson (DCC) third placed, was not available for a photograph.

The Best Nett prize in the A Division went to Colin Weinstein (Modderfontein) playing of a 8 handicap with a nett score of 139.

The best Super Senior prize went to Richard Brooker (Royal Cape) with a gross score of 147.

There was a total of 28 players in the B Division who played Individual Stableford over the 36 holes. Leader after day one was Alan Cretten (Kloof CC) with a score of 36 points playing off a 19 handicap. Other leading scores were Domingos de Jesus (Victoria) with 34 points, Logan Puckree (Riverside) and Kevin Perumal each with 33 points.

Ganas Naicker (Umfolosi) had 35 points on day two but a great score of 40 points on day two by Kobus Swart (Kloof) who plays off an 11 handicap, which added to his 31 on the first day, was enough to earn him first place in the B Division with a total of 71 stableford points.

Winner of the B Division, Kobus Swart (Kloof CC) with a total stableford score of 71 points being congratulated by Richard Nel.

Second place in the B Division went to Kevin Perumal (Victoria CC) with a total of 70 stableford points. Third place went to Domingos de Jesus (Victoria) with a score of 65 stableford points. Domingos was unfortunately unavailable for a photograph.

Alan Cretten (Kloof CC) followed up his first day score of 36 with 33 points on day two which earned him the prize for the best B Division Super Senior position.

Overall, a great tournament and we thank all those who made the effort to travel to the event especially those out-of- Province visitors. We really value your support. Aslo, many thanks to our sponsor for their continued support

(photo credits : Samakipics)

(photo credits : Samakipics)